Quality Control.png

All contractors try to control quality. We do control quality.

The Old Quality Control System 

construction workers, quality control

Generally, most contractors don’t have a documented quality management process. In many construction companies, the project foreman handles the quality of the work. The foreman will hire craft workers who will follow standard quality of work practices. This process depends too much on one person. The system depends on a persistent foreman and diligent craftsmen.

The Moran Way | Quality Control

The Moran Group wanted to break out of the norm. We established the Quality Control Division. It focuses on pipe operations, sheet metal, plumbing, and sprinkler installed systems. TMG designed a comprehensive program that adapted to the needs of both our customer and evolving technology.

Our QC Plan includes

·         organizational structure.

·         details on each employee's responsibilities.

·         qualifications an employee needs to fulfill those responsibilities.

·         requirements for suppliers and the materials shipped.

Inspections, Corrections, and Prevention (ICP) Program

In 2017, TMG launched a new program called Inspections, Corrections and Prevention (ICP’s). ICPs eliminated poor craftsmanship, problems, and events. These issues could lead to production slowdowns or general liability claims. In our sprinkler division, only approved or NICET-qualified employees can conduct ICP’s.

In 2019, TMG is launching a one of a kind programs to educate our field staff on quality control-related issues. This program is called Q-Box™. Our field staff will complete the sessions monthly and provide SNAP training.

In 2020, TMG is launching a trade-specific quality control orientation training program. Field staff will complete it on day one of employment. This orientation will cover trade-specific quality control issues.


ISO 9001 | F.E. Moran Special Hazard Systems

F.E. Moran Special Hazard Systems is ISO 9001 certified.

ISO 9001 specifies requirements for a quality management system.

The ISO 9001 requirements are broadly separated into eight sections (called ISO 9001 clauses). Five contain mandatory requirements for a QMS: general Quality Management System requirements (clause 4), Management Responsibility (clause 5), Resource Management (clause 6), Product Realization (clause 7), and Measurement, Analysis and Improvement (clause 8).

Since the release of our QC manual and training platforms, TMG has reduced the need to revisit projects to perform re-work, which can cost hundreds of thousands of dollars in loss productivity. The program also reduced general liability claims, improved efficiency, and established stronger relationships with our customers.